Creating Your Birth Kit

When preparing for a home delivery, your birth kit is essential. You want to start gathering your supplies sooner then later. You can deliver a healthy baby sooner then the expected 9 months mark. You need to be prepared, have the piece of mind of having a kit ready. During long  hiking trips or long periods away from home I had all my supplies in a small bin with me in the car. Keep in mind labor isn’t like the movies so don’t fret just be actively prepared. 


I gather my stuff from various places I will include hyperlinks to guide you as I go down the list. 

Birth kit supplies-

Must haves!!

Disposable chux underpad 30×30 (Get at Least 10. You be needing a few of these during and after birth.)

4×4 Sterile Gauze Pads (I would get a box at least a good amount on hand for possible tears that need attention.)

Note: With my son I tore quite a bit, three nice size gashes. They weren’t big enough that I felt I needed any stitches, I choose to heal naturally since at the time I didn’t think of buying a local anesthetic so that wasn’t going to happen. I used gauze soaked in the mother of my organic DIY healing cream (check pervious post). I kept everything clean using peroxide, sitz baths, and wet with healing oils. The cuts healed in 10 days. Make sure you have your mother cream ready to go!

Mother DIY Healing cream

(2) Peri bottles (One for peroxide for any wounds and the other for a sitz baths to cleanse yourself after labor, when you change your pads, or use the restroom.)

(2) Bed sheet protectors (For before and after birth, I made the mistake of not buying any and using a normal mattress protector intended for children. Don’t underestimate the amount of fluids come with labor.)

Organic Sitz bath Herbs (For soaking to help the healing process)

Food grade peroxide (I would suggest buying a concentrated version and diluting it to 3% yourself. You may need quite a bit, plus it’s good to have handy.)

Flex straws (trust me, go to the dollar store and get a box.)

Bulb syringe (To clear the airways after delivery)

Any type of disposable underwear (I would get 2 just for after birth, then you can switch to pads.)

Overnight pads (Cvs sells heavy overnight pads as well, you’ll need 1 1/2 – 2 weeks worth of pads. Postpartum bleeding is heavy. ) 

Surgical kit

Exam gloves (buy 4)

Gloves for suture set (buy set of 1)

Suture set with some sort pain reliever 

Scalpel with a few blades of it doesn’t come in your suture kit or new clean razor blades ( For cuting the cord or opening the sack.)

Cord tape

Cord string ( Any cotton string will do)

Optional-Tape measure

Optional- Weight scale (average baby weight is 6lbs)

Optional- Postpartum teas

Newborn needs-

Newborn hat ( get 2)

Newborn outfit (Long sleeves and pants)

Newborn socks

Receiving blanket (get at least 2, for during and after delivery)

Warm blanket

Muslin Swaddle blankets (great breastfeeding blankets later on)


Optional- Foot print

Optional-Certification live birth (we made our own How to… coming soon)

Box of zip locks ( 1 to hold your placenta and a few for organization) 

Note- Organization is important to be able to find what you need. Ziplocks and labeling is key.

Plastic bin to store everything (travel size preferably)

Towels (use your own or buy disposable ones

Paper towel (for cleanup)

Garbage bags (for clean up)

Cold pack (I used hard food ice packs for my back during labor. You may want to get something a little more fancy for comfort, this looks cool because it alternates cold/hot!)

Hot pack (Trust me, your back and boobs will thank me later)

Diapers

 I recommend Babyganics when it comes to disposables. 

Cloth diapers- We used Thirsties cover, snaps, with cloth prefolds, and a Wet bag. (Everything birth also offers cloth diapering options, though I did not purchase their products). 

If you don’t have access to laundry at home please get a min of 20 cloths and 3 covers, I would get that many either way. Get different sizes they grow fast!!!

Nurtured family is offering free wet bag with $110 purchase. Check out their sale/promotions see if it’s still valid and what their offering at the time. 

If your interested in a soft structure baby carrier they sell all kinds including the one I use and recommend Lillebaby 360 all season

All content found on the this Website, including: text, images, audio, or other formats were created for informational purposes only. I’m not a medical professional, please consult a trusted midwife of any concerns, do not attempt to give birth on your own if you have any serious medical conditions. The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Never disregard professional medical advice or delay in seeking it. Please use discernment when it comes to your health and your child’s. 

Leave a Reply

